You're reading...
Archives, Campus Life, Natalia Elmani

Senioritis: A Real Disease?

By Natalia Elmani

LAU Tribune staff

“Senioritis (noun): A crippling disease that strikes high school seniors.”

The urban dictionary goes on. “Symptoms include: laziness, an over-excessive wearing of track pants, old athletic shirts, sweatpants, athletic shorts, and sweatshirts. Also features a lack of studying, repeated absences, and a generally dismissive attitude,” it reads. “The only known cure is a phenomenon known as graduation.”

Photo via Facebook

And for some reason, since the beginning of the spring semester, all that was clear in my head was the term “graduation.”

Disregarding the labeling of only high school students within the urban dictionary definition, seniorities hit me harder in university than what I experienced in grade 12.

It was the middle of my eighth semester, and I had just gotten my acceptance to the Grad school I aimed for; a relief to the extensive effort I put into my former semesters and the absolutely absurd amount of studying I dug my heels into for the dreaded GRE’s.

That acceptance letter started the domino effect: Showing up late to classes, not caring what I was wearing and most importantly, not moving towards achieving anything extravagant in my classes. Whatever I got, was just…whatever.

Don’t get me wrong. I usually have a very large guilt bone in my body which begins to play with my head when I mess up what benefits me in the best way –such as school work. But, for some reason, that bone only had a few twinges this semester and the rest of the time it got comfy waiting for me to receive my diploma.

I used to roll my eyes at the senior students who somehow got stuck in my freshman classes my first year. Making excuses for being late and trying to convince the teachers that some crucial reason stopped them from reading the required material. All I can say to those freshmen is: don’t judge. Around 18 years of continuously sitting in a classroom has a serious effect on students.

Even though it may not be medically diagnosed, it sure seems that it could be easily cured by an extremely long and lazy summer. I see now why graduates backpack across Europe or go into hiding on many of Mexico’s resorts. It’s the only thing that seems mentally sustainable.

The only thing I can tell my parents is; “I’m tired and I’m so done.”

I know whoever may be reading this, whether in Lebanon or abroad, may think I’m attending a university on close comparison to that of an Ivy League school. It may seem that I’ve been subjected to absolute agony from the stack of books I’ve been forced to read every week.

However, I’m not in an Ivy League school. I, unfortunately, can probably count the number of books I’ve read throughout my four years on two hands and really, I’m not complaining. I experienced a relatively minimal amount of agony compared to a majority of universities across the world.

But, surprise! Senioritis still affects me –an LAU journalism major who may seemingly have it pretty easy to everyone who has an opinion.

I think all in all, it’s the concept of school at the end. We get sick of being taught, we want to venture out and see what else the world can offer before we realize that education and university were probably the most comforting things that ever hit us. Ultimately, we need to show everyone else what we have to bring to the table.

I guess senioritis can’t be a bad thing, but it’s definitely something irritating and I feel I’m speaking for a good handful of senior students just entering their last final exam period.

I’ll miss staring blankly across to the neighboring desk when I haven’t read the assigned material, having to tell my teacher I need to discuss my grade at their office hours and seeing what extra work I can do before it’s too late.

It paid off for being so good those other seven semesters.

About LAU Tribune

The official student newspaper at the Lebanese American University

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Search by Date

Newspaper monthly archive

